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STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER PROTECTION 
FOOD & STANDARDS DIVISION 
Telephone: (860) 713-6160 
Web Site:  www.ct.gov/dcp 
 
 

 

APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION OF MOTOR FUEL QUALITY 
 

*Please Note: Registration is only required for Fuel Wholesale Distributors 
 

INSTRUCTIONS:  
All spaces must be completed - please print or type.   This application must be accompanied by a 
check or money order in the amount of $200.00, for each brand/grade of fuel.  Checks or money orders 
should be made payable to “Treasurer, State of CT.” 
 

Ø Return your completed application and fee to:    
 

Department of Consumer Protection,  License Services Division, 165 Capitol Avenue,  Hartford, CT 06106 
 

Name of Business 
 

Street Address  City State Zip Code 

Telephone No (w/area code) Federal ID Number 
 

Name of Principal Officer in Charge 

Mailing Address (If different than above) 
Name 

Street Address City State Zip Code 

 

Brand Name 
(see additional instructions on reverse) 

Octane or 
Cetane Rating 

 

Type and % of 
Predominant 
Oxegenate 

Application Fee 
for Each Brand 

   $200.00 

   $200.00 

   $200.00 

   $200.00 

   $200.00 

   $200.00 

  Total  
 
 

I certify that I am authorized to exercise principal authority in the State of Connecticut on behalf of the above applicant and 
that  each individual type of motor fuel registered shall conform to the provisions of sections 14-327a to 14-327e, inclusive of 
the Connecticut General Statutes.  I also subscribe and affirm under penalties of perjury, that the statements made in this 
application have been examined by me and to the best of my knowledge and belief are true and correct. 
 
        ______________________________________________________________                             ______________________________ 
        Signature of Applicant                        Date    

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



Instructions 
 

According to Sec. 14-327b of the Connecticut General Statutes, “No distributor shall sell or offer to sell 
motor fuel in this state unless such distributor has first registered with the Department of Consumer 
Protection each type of motor fuel which he intends to sell and has received from the department a 
certificate of registration for each type of motor fuel which he intends to sell.” 
 
1. In the Brand Name  block please provide the name as it appears on the dispenser, invoice or bill of lading for each 

Motor Fuel being registered.  Diesel fuel should be indicated as either No. 1 or No. 2 fuel. 
 

2. In the Octane or Cetane block please provide either the octane (R+m/2) or cetane number.  All tests to determine 
the quality of gasoline or diesel fuel shall be made in accordance with the most recent revision of either Standard 
D439, Specification for Automotive Gasoline, or Standard D975, Specification for Diesel Fuel Oils, of Part 23 of the 
American Society for Testing and Materials. 

 

3. In the Type of Oxygenate block all automotive gasoline or automotive gasoline-oxygenate blends containing at 
least 1.5 mass percent oxygen shall be identified as oxegenated fuels along with the predominant oxygenate in the 
engine fuel, such as but not limited to ethanol or MTBE.  


